Notes on book design-book by Derek Birdsall

As my mini-monograph is about the Derek Birdsall’s career as a book designer it was vital that I snapped up his own book quick from the library!  Firstly, It is huge. Secondly, it is jam packed with so much knowledge (229 pages to be exact) that I can hardly get my head around it all! It is full of his opinions and his ways/techniques of creating so many amazing book designs so although its been an overwhelming read It has been extremely helpful to have.

He talks in depth on important elements of book design in each chapter which includes presentation and structure, page size and grid, size and scale of reproductions, paper and typeface. It is a really amazing book and I am happy I found it as its gonna be extremely helpful when creating my mini-monograph.

Leave a Reply

